WHAT MESSAGE DO WE SEND?

Over the ritual coffee and pancake the news discusses the Anglican Church’s impending vote on the ordination of Female Bishops and I pause to reflect:
We are highly critical of countries that we don’t believe are treating their womenfolk fairly but at the same time we’re preaching equality what message are our actions actually sending?

Women do NOT have full equality all the while that there is still disparity in pay and some roles are still exclusive to men in jobs which both sexes are capable of performing equally. Though having said that I would hate to see either men or women posted or promoted for the sake of gender balance if they weren’t capable of doing the job appropriately.
I had a male midwife during one of my numerous pregnancies and he did, in my humble opinion, a far better job than some of the women I encountered during my reproductive life. On the other hand Theresa May has not been the most competent Home secretary on Record.

I also look at those women who have taken the title ‘Feminist’  and run with it as an excuse for bullying men who are left at a loss to know how to respond appropriately and that kind of feminine domination is also wrong in the same way that some people also choose to misemploy the ‘racial abuse’ policy.

We aren’t giving out the right messages. Arguably in the drive to gain equality for all we have manged to create more categories of division than ever before and until we resolve this how can we preach – whatever our sex, colour, creed or race, to other nations on how to conduct their lives?

My interpretation of equality in:
Personal relationships – I want an equal partner who plays to his strengths and appreciates mine. Someone whose roles compliment mine in facilitating a settled and contented life
Working relationships – I want equal pay and conditions to anyone I am working with who is fulfilling the same role with the same efficiency and competence as me. I’m not going to begrudge a male colleague having the same maternity leave as a me, children need to bond with their fathers as much as they do with their mothers.
Working roles – I should have the right to work at any career which I believe in and can fill competently irrespective of gender, race, age or stance
Pensions – do women need any less maintenance than men when they get old?
Politics – should be personal and Party NOT personality based
Religion – should be personal choice which I should not press on anyone else nor they on me.

Once we have achieved this balance then perhaps we can help others to achieve it too but until then do we have any right to advise anyone else?

About ayrgael

Mother, Grandmother, Great Grandmother. Performer, writer, witch and student. For anyone looking to read or re-read the Commander and Selkie Legends please go to the story category or earliest blog entry and use the page turner link to move through the episodes as Robin never did figure out how to reverse the timeline.
This entry was posted in BLOG PAGES. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WHAT MESSAGE DO WE SEND?

  1. penelopephoebe says:

    Well put!

  2. ayrgael says:

    Thank you – i hope all are well xx

Leave a comment